Xmas Songs in Spanish


In  Spanish carols are called “villancicos”(vee- yahn see- kohs). Today’s  villancico is : “Mi Burrito Sabanero” = My little savanna donkey. The song speaks of a little boy  from the countryside who is on his way along with his  helper & companion, his donkey to visit baby Jesus. This song was actually written by Venezuelan composer Hugo Blanco. It  became  a hit & is still a Christmas  favorite in many Spanish speaking countries including Mexico. This villancico was popularized by famous acts such as : by  Topo Gigio in Mexico (* Topo Gigio was originally an italian show base on a little mouse puppet . The version in Spanish  blew up big in Mexico) Throughout Latin America the villancico was popularized by Venezuelan children’s singing group “‘La Rondallita'”

LYRICS TRANSLATION

With my my little Savannah donkey  I’m on my to Bethlehem.  x2

If you see me, if you see me  I’m on my way to Bethlehem. x4

A little bright morning star is my guide & illuminates my path.  x2

If you see me, if you see me  I’m on my way to Bethlehem. x4

With my cuatrico (four stringed guitar) I ‘m singing as  my donkey goes trotting along. x2

If you see me, if you see me  I’m on my way to Bethlehem. x4

Tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki ta!

Hurry my little donkey for we are almost there.

Tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tu!

Hurry my little donkey we are going to see Jesus.

With my my little Savannah donkey  I’m on my to Bethlehem.  x2

If you see me, if you see me  I’m on my way to Bethlehem. x4

A little bright morning star is my guide & illuminates my path.  x2

With my cuatrico (four stringed guitar) I ‘m singing as  my donkey goes trotting along. x2

Tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki ta!

Hurry my little donkey for we are almost there.

Tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tuki, tuki tu!

Hurry my little donkey we are going to see Jesus.

With my my little Savannah donkey  I’m on my to Bethlehem.  x2

If you see me, if you see me  I’m on my way to Bethlehem. Repeats untill end.

One response to “Xmas Songs in Spanish

  1. Pingback: Xmas-Songs-in-Spanish : Sysmaya

Leave a Reply

